Photos in and around Saint John

waiting for spring


waiting for spring

You don’t know what will trigger it, whether storms or stillness cause the shift. It could be as simple as water dripping from the end of a melting icicle, or the gradual realization that, yes, the days are getting longer at last! But when the longing for spring hits you, there’s no turning back.

I love Terra’s comment on my barbecue dreaming post, “I have been having the same feelings of longing and separation from the earth, the green, the smell of the dirt (or my own sweat!). I love winter but I am starting to really yearn bodily for the warmth of spring…”

At home, we’ve been talking about our plans for this year’s garden. My partner has ordered a whole slew of seeds, and I suddenly have the deep desire to plant something. Winter, yes it’s been a lovely visit, but it’s time to pack your bags. We’re waiting for spring to arrive.

Photo taken on February 5, 2011

15 responses

  1. I agree, it hit me a few days ago, for no apparent reason. I love the winter, but it’s been here long enough. Now, I long for spring.

    February 10, 2011 at 10:08 am

    • Yes, I agree, Louise. With all the snow we’ve had this year, how could anyone think winter was too short? Out with the cold, in with the new!

      February 10, 2011 at 11:01 pm

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever missed the warm/sunny weather as much as I have this year – it’s been a nasty winter!

    February 10, 2011 at 10:09 am

    • It has seemed nasty, Holly, though I’m conscious that — in previous years when the temperature had waffled between freezing and thawing — I have often said I’d prefer a winter that just stayed cold (not too cold, mind you). So, really, it’s been a perfect winter, by my supposed standards. I’m just tired of it.

      February 10, 2011 at 11:03 pm

  3. Got snow? Lol! It has been a cold, snowy winter. Still, I like to think of my plants all snuggled into the soil under their blanket of white, sleeping. To every thing, there is a season… My body, especially after indulging in Christmas goodies, longs for the exercise of garden work. I feel fat and lazy.

    February 10, 2011 at 11:21 am

    • Ah yes, the snuggly plants. And me so snuggly, too, not getting enough fresh air and exercise. If there is a season for being fat and lazy, barefootheart, I feel it must have passed by now.

      February 10, 2011 at 11:05 pm

  4. Now that the snow is high enough and hard enough for the dogs to exit the backyard (and too hard for me to shovel), and I have to be outside to supervise, they’re getting even less exercise than they have been. And the cat is bored enough to bite. When I rule the universe, Winter will be allowed to stay from the first Sunday in Advent to the day after Epiphany, at which point it will give way to the first crocuses.

    Purple ones.

    February 10, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    • O Hail, Ruler of the Universe! Oh, hang on, I don’t mean Hail, not that kind…
      Purple crocuses would be lovely right about now.

      February 10, 2011 at 11:07 pm

  5. Great photo to go with this post. It says it all.

    I’m looking forward to Spring and little flowers but not the kind of dreadful heat we had last Summer.

    February 12, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    • I agree with you, Rebekah — I don’t want the extreme heat, either. And if we were talking about the winter, I’d prefer to skip on the bitter cold, but here it is, minus 27 Celcius with the windchill, and what can you do but carry on?

      February 16, 2011 at 8:16 am

  6. I moved from Syracuse NY to Colorado about 30 years ago. I’ve become a wimp when it comes to weather and freak out when it snows. During the last storm they had, my friend said — you just live with it. You clear off the car, warm it up and go.”

    Thanks for sharing this great photo!

    February 15, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by to comment, Marge! Yes, winter offers you few choices, especially if you want to (or need to) get out of the house. My secret has always been to dress warmly — it’s amazing how much difference it can make if you are feeling toasty outdoors even when the wind is howling!

      February 16, 2011 at 8:22 am

  7. You are definitely ahead of us with the seed orders… seems we’ve been a bit preoccupied lately, but the time has come to get on with it! Annapolis Heritage gardens posted a photo of the Witch Hazel starting to bloom, so spring has to be just around the corner!

    February 18, 2011 at 11:39 am

    • Whoa, did you say there’s something blooming in Nova Scotia? Already? The snow is so deep here that not even the snowdrops will be able to show their heads for some time… unless we get 10 days of rain, maybe, but ugh, what a mess that would be! Still, a lot can change if we get a spell of warmer weather… I’ll start looking for buds as soon as the snow starts to recede.

      February 18, 2011 at 1:45 pm

  8. Yes, although there’s a meter of snow on the ground, one plant is trying valiantly to bloom! Martin checked in on one of our Witch Hazel trees we planted last summer and ‘Jelena’ is primed to burst open at a moment’s notice. Mind you, this could take a week or two if the mercury gets stuck at -5 for many more days. If you have a forsythia in your yard, and are pining for spring (like us), just cut a few branches and bring them inside… in a week or so they’ll be a brilliant splash of gold to brighten even the slushiest part of winter.

    February 24, 2011 at 12:42 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.