the side door


If I lived here, I would plant flowers along the walkway, heaps of waving cosmos and clumps of cheerful pinks. I would have a glass jug of fresh lemonade in the refrigerator, with lemon slices to make the lemony taste last when the ice cubes melt. I would keep stacks of old magazines and cookbooks in the enclosed porch, and an old couch for catnaps on hot summer days. I would walk out into the garden in bare feet, my toes delighting in the cool grass, and return with sprigs of basil, parsley and lemon verbena. I would sit on the step at the side door on warm evenings, and look up at the sky, and dream.

Taken on June 15, 2010

Leave a Reply

