rose-coloured


They say that you have to dream something to make it real. That you need dreams to have a future. That through dreaming you can overcome difficulties and work your way around psychological obstacles.

Yet you’ve also been told that dreamers are not doers, that dreaming doesn’t make it true, and dreams are the opposite of reality. I don’t believe it.

Maybe I was born with rose-coloured glasses, maybe it’s just that I’m an optimist, but I’ve always thought that — for most things — if I can dream it, I can do it. I’m not talking about fantasy; I’m talking about dreams, about having vision and seeing the paths that might open up to you around the corner. When you dream, you see not only your potential, but what you truly want, and who you truly are. And let’s face it, reality can be pretty grim unless you know how to dream, unless you know that it is possible (yes it is) for your dreams to come true.

Taken on May 24, 2009

8 thoughts on “rose-coloured

  1. I totally agree with you. My husband and I have dreamt of many things over the years, moving countries, cities etc and they just happened out of the blue and no planning from us, it’s happened several times. So I totally believe in that theory. Dreaming is a wonderful past time and does get you through those “hard” times.

    By the way I love this shot, nice toning, composition and texture in the sky.

  2. I tend to be a skeptic. The world exasperates me. Yet I must be an optimist at heart because I always think tomorrow will be better…and sometimes it is!

    That’s a wonderful illustration for your commentary, beautiful effect.

    • There’s nothing wrong with being a skeptic, barefootheart, especially if it keeps you from being disappointed all the time. What I’ve noticed in my work history is that if I stop thinking that tomorrow will be better, it’s time to leave. Maybe it’s a good thing that tomorrow never comes, so we can always hope!

  3. I really enjoy reading your commentary. Not only is the photography great, but your wordcrafting is also beautiful. Dreams are the driving force behind so much. We’re so happy to finally be following our dreams now!

    • Thanks for your kind comment, Gordon — I’m glad you dropped by! We have been totally inspired by seeing how your enterprise is beginning to unfold and thrive, step by step… Keep on dreaming!

  4. Lovely image – is this a night shot? Not to get bogged down in the technical stuff, but I would be interested to hear what you did to this shot to get that effect (assuming it’s digital since it’s tagged Canon Digital) Very evocative!

    • I’m glad you like it this image, mpaulphotography! This photo was originally, well, ho-hum, so I tried a number of different settings (in Lightroom), and ended up converting it to black-and-white with an IR effect, and then added split toning (sepia shadow tones and pink-ish highlights). I’m not sure I like the separation on the treetops, but the sky detail was interesting enough to keep.

Leave a Reply

