Saturday in the park


It was foggy yesterday. This wasn’t the vanish-with-dawn kind of fog, or even the sun-burns-through-by-noon kind of fog. This was stay-all-day fog. As I walked through the uptown streets, several times the sky seemed to brighten and I thought ‘A-ha, now the fog will lift and the sun will come out’. But it didn’t. By the time I headed home again, I think I could see a little farther down King Street, but I wouldn’t swear to it in court.

But I was born here. I grew up with fog. I like fog. And most folks here don’t seem to mind it, to judge from the number of people strolling through town and passing a pleasant afternoon in the park. If you need sunshine to enjoy your day, you’d best move to Fredericton. But if you live in Saint John, and it’s foggy, that usually means it’s not windy. It’s calm and mild and easy on the eyes. And sometimes that’s just what you need.

Taken on September 25, 2010

9 thoughts on “Saturday in the park

  1. Very nice! I love parks like this, where you can just sit and relax, watching the people walk by. I’ve never been a fan of the wind, so something like this would be good for me. You caught that man walking down the path at just the right time! 🙂

    • What’s that, barefootheart, Ontario has fog? That’s not fog! [insert maritimer huff here]
      I don’t hear the fog horn very often, surprisingly… maybe the wind is always blowing the other direction?
      Who’s George?

  2. Sunday in the Park with George. Okay, so you said Saturday, big deal. George Seurat…It’s a play based on a painting.

    We lived close to the Burlington Skyway where the canal leads into Hamilton Harbour. I guess the fog was dense enough to make big ships aiming for that little canal passage wary. But I’ll concede the fog issue to you maritimers.

  3. I haven’t seen the play either but I think of the painting when images of parks come up.

    Of course! Saturday …in the park… For some reason that has never resonated with me. I think it is the American ref to July 4th early on in the lyrics that makes me think of N.Y. Central Park or some place else…not Canada. Coincidentally, the painting, “A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte” is in the Chicago Institute of Art.

Leave a Reply

