cat eyes


I’ve noticed that fancy decor magazines like to pretend that people’s homes are museums or galleries. For example, instead of discussing curtains or drapes, they talk about window dressing. Window dressing?

“It has come to my attention that many of you are in a quandary about how to dress your windows. Even friends of mine who are top notch designers are often terrified of window dressing…” – from a Home and Garden article (“Window Dressing 101”).

Terrified by window dressing, eh? Well now, I’ve seen two windows with wolf-blanket curtains; maybe that’s what they’re talking about. A wolf in the window probably sends the wrong message, it scares away the meter reader and Girl Guides selling cookies. But replace the ferocious wolf with a sweet-faced domestic cat, and suddenly your window dressing is not so terrifying. How purrfect, the neighbours will say, that little house down the street has cat eyes.

Taken on October 2, 2010

10 thoughts on “cat eyes

  1. Very nice!! Makes me wonder, “What is that cat looking at??” Like when one of my cats stare intensely at the wall, making me look to see what they’re looking at, and then… they look straight at me, like they’re saying, “Made you look!!!” 🙂

  2. I quite like this window dressing lark, haven’t seen it here and I agree with Lisa, I’m intrigued by the house itself with it’s little shingles (not sure if that’s what they’re called), peeling paint and the whole composition of this.

    • Thanks for your comment, Leanne! Re the window covering, I suppose it makes sense to block a window at sidewalk level, and if you’re not going to look out, why bother with drapes?

      BTW, the shingles are “cedar shakes”, which is quite a common siding in the Maritimes (apparently shakes are always split, compared to shingles which are cut).

    • A mammoth cat… hmmm, I hadn’t thought of it that way, barefootheart! I guess they are carnivores as well. I wonder whether a wolf or cat would tiptoe more quietly down the stairs?

Leave a Reply

