liquid sunshine


liquid sunshine

Our attitude toward weather is clearly biased. Despite the fact that we need precipitation to survive, wet weather is always bad weather, and sunny weather is fair and fine and good. Popular culture mostly reflects this. Think of the classic Harold Arlen song, Stormy Weather: “Life is bare, gloom and misery everywhere/Stormy weather, just can’t get my poor old self together…” Compare Rainy Days and Mondays (always get me down) and Sunshine on My Shoulders (makes me happy). Oh sure, you might hear Laughter in the Rain but you’re much more likely to be Walking in Sunshine.

I don’t know the origin of the term “liquid sunshine”, but I know when applied to rain it sounds much more pleasant. It’s a perfect illustration of the power of language to change how you feel about something. I’d rather drink from a glass which is half-full rather than one which is half-empty. Sure, I feel just as gloomy as the next person when the skies are dark and the rain is coming down in buckets, but maybe I need an attitude-ectomy. Maybe next time it rains, I’ll get out my jungle umbrella and go for a walk (instead of just standing on the front porch, like I did to take this photo). I don’t need more excuses to stay inside, I need more motivation to get out of the house. Would you like to join me? Come on, let’s go “walkin’ in liquid sunshine, oh yeah!”

Photo taken on October 27, 2010

9 thoughts on “liquid sunshine

  1. I love your photo! We do have to remind ourselves from time to time that the rain is essential! 🙂 My 6 year old son loves the sound of the rain (and thunder), he says it makes him feel “relaxing”. 🙂

  2. Love both the photo and the sentiment. I’m going to refer to rain as ‘liquid sunshine’ from now on and see what happens to my enjoyment of it 🙂

    • Thank you, Herby! Let me know if the “liquid sunshine” attitude helps the rainy day blues… I played some music yesterday after having looked up all those songs, and singing along helps, too!

  3. Eyegillian, your photo and thought brought lots to mind. I was thinking on our rainy days recently how the dull weather makes the fall leaves even more brilliant, when you would think sun was needed. Your photo is a perfect illustration.
    I thought liquid sunshine was cod liver oil.
    I always liked Jay and the American’s Walking in the Rain.

    • I googled “liquid sunshine” and found all sorts of meanings, ranging from a light sun shower particular to Hawaii to a slang term for street drugs. I didn’t see cod liver oil mentioned, but I’m not surprised! I’ll see if Walking in the Rain is on YouTube… sounds fun.

      [Edit: ok, I just checked out the song. For another great song, recommended by LB, listen to the Hollies Bus Stop. Umbrella love!]

  4. Oh yeah. I’m surprised you haven’t heard this, being East Coast and all…Google cod liver oil and liquid sunshine together and you’ll get like 17,000 results. And the reason I know this is because for some bizarre reason I was taught it back in elementery school and it’s stuck with me all these years even though I’ve never tried cod liver oil!

    Oh yeah! Bus Stop is one of my absolute favorites!

  5. Well, it’s all true what you say about the weather, but I think I acquired a different attitude this last Summer. The heat and humidity was almost killing me — the only thing I was hoping for was rain and chilly winds. I would have been «Singing in the Rain»… I feel good now (c;

    I’d never even heard the term ‘liquid sunshine’ before, but I like it, and you sure got a fabulous picture of it!

    • I know what you mean about heat and humidity, Rebekah, when I lived in Toronto it could get really bad. Like you, I much prefer Saint John’s fog and cool breezes. Well, most of the time…

Leave a Reply

