architecture + puddle = fun


old post office, reflected

I am a spur-of-the-moment photographer. I tend to take ’em as I see ’em. That’s not to say I don’t work with different angles and compositions, and I certainly spend enough time adjusting colour, crop, contrast etc on the computer. But I have to admit that I seldom plan ahead.

Last night was an exception. I had two reasons to take photos. The first was because it was Thursday, and Utata (the Flickr photo group I participate in) always has a weekly project called Thursday walks. The second is the photo conference happening this weekend in Moncton, called Foto Expo, which is also running a contest with the theme “downtown architecture”. I didn’t get out during the daytime because I was making apple chutney, and it took longer than I expected (doesn’t it always). So that’s why I was uptown with a camera and tripod at 8 p.m. last night.

I had been wanting to take a photo of this building for a while, so last night was the perfect opportunity. Finding the puddle was a bonus. I’m really glad I planned ahead and brought the equipment I needed for this photo shoot. I spent about 40 minutes in this parking lot (my car is the 2nd from the right) and took photos of this Old Post Office building from several angles. In fact, it was so much fun, I might do it again (plan ahead, that is)!

Photo taken on October 28, 2010

6 thoughts on “architecture + puddle = fun

    • Thanks, Barefootheart! I’m going to go out again to see if I can get more night shots.
      I attended three workshops at Foto Expo — fun and inspiring. More on that tomorrow…

  1. Wow! What can I say, when awesome is getting a little hackneyed?! Love it!

    I too, love that building — especially at night, when it’s lit up. In general, I like night shots, but I rarely get around to it.

    The puddle was certainly a good bonus!

  2. Pingback: We had snow… » Kattsby

  3. Pingback: a walk in the park « Tin Can Beach

Leave a Reply

