seeing is… seeing eyes


morning, Chance Harbour

When I first joined Flickr in 2006, I merely wanted to share my travel photos with family members on the other side of the world. I was surprised and pleased to see comments on one of the first photos I uploaded, and from then on, I was hooked. I would not be as avid a photo enthusiast today if I didn’t have Flickr to encourage and inspire me.

I chose my Flickr name “Seeing Is” partly because it can be read in two ways (I love puns) as “Seeing is… believing” for example, and as “Seeing eyes”. Having “seeing eyes” has become increasingly important to me. To see means to have vision, to pay attention, to notice and observe and wonder at all things great and small. I’ve always liked the image of the eagle, who sees clearly and far. Here on WordPress and other sites, I am eyeGillian (another pun), referring to photography and also my internal ego-emperor, a reference to the Robert Graves novel I, Claudius.

As I write this, my father is struggling with failing eyesight, and I can see how it has affected his previous enjoyment of driving, hiking, reading and even simple everyday tasks. I remember my disappointment when I had to get glasses at age 19. The thought of what my father must be going through, and the possibility of someday losing my own sight makes me cherish it all the more.

Yet there is something deeper than just seeing. I need to remember the wisdom I read as a child in The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry: “It is only with the heart that one sees rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye”.

Photo taken on November 14, 2010

5 thoughts on “seeing is… seeing eyes

  1. Wow! What a wonderful post. I love that last quote … “It is only with the heart that one sees rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye”.
    Gerry had cataract surgery this last Spring, and a whole new world opened up for him. It was really overdue too.

    It’s a precious gift.

    I signed up for Flickr 2005, for totally different reasons. I don’t think we even had a camera! Back then, I was, big time, into creating web graphics in Paint Shop Pro and later Photoshop. Needed a place to store them, where I could also link to them, with links to stay permanent. They became more numerous so I signed up for a paid account.

    Eventually we bought a small P&S camera, went to Bar Harbor and Saint John. Uploaded my photos and realized there were even groups for different places. That’s how I found the SJ Flickr group. My URL in Flickr is lakeflurries [not user name]. It had to do with the weather reports in QC … we often got the tail end of the lake effect snow 🙂

    I think I have two thousand background images stored there, but have totally lost the inspiration for doing that type of stuff. I miss it, but can’t seem to get it back.

    • I’m fascinated to hear about how you got into photography through graphics, Rebekah. Are you still doing graphic design/art? Obviously you’re still taking photos — and it looks like you are still enjoying that — so are you tired of Flickr because of the explore-hunting-comment-hungry crowd? If you now post most of your photos on your blog, that works perfectly well, too! I find it handy to grab photos from my Flickr stream so I don’t go over my upload limit on WordPress.

      • I still use Flickr to store all my photos. Nowadays I put very few out in public. There are several reasons … It’s the greatest place for storage and linking! Most of them that I put on the blog are linked from Flickr so I don’t have to use up whatever space I have bought.

  2. Beautiful photo and post. I have never been to Flickr. But I am coming close to my WP upload limit so might have to learn how to use Flickr and see whether I like it.

    • Thanks, Herby! Even if you decide not to participate in the “Flickrverse”, the Flickr interface is easy to use and works well as your personal online library to save and display your photos. Let me know if you join!

Leave a Reply

