don’t forget to admire the view


Saint John from Mount Pleasant

Yesterday was rainy and dull, and I desperately needed a boost of colour. So we went to the park.

And as so often happens (why do I so easily forget?), our walk turned into an adventure. We had the dogs with us, so the walk was energetic. After walking around the lake, we decided to follow a path that I’d often wondered about, an unsigned path that disappeared into the woods and up a steep bank. After a couple of wrong turns, we ended up at the top of a rocky hill with a fabulous panoramic view over the city. There was the colour I had been seeking, the inspiration and the energizing hike, all rolled into one.

Most of my photos were blurry, but I don’t mind. I found a fresh outlook, and stopped to admire the view, and that was exactly what I needed.

Photo taken on December 2, 2010

9 thoughts on “don’t forget to admire the view

  1. Well said. Too often we just go through a day without noticing what is going on around us. Taking a little time just to explore and look around is one of my favorite things. Planning to spend most of the weekend doing that, if the weather cooperates. Or even if it doesn’t.

      • Exploring paid off again. Visited a small town, just to look around and take a few pictures, and got there just in time for their Christmas Parade. Great fun. 🙂

  2. Wonderful view!!! Is that the path that goes in near the duck pond? Almost at the entrance to the camp ground? I’ve seen it, but never gotten around to walking in there.

    • Yes, that’s the path, Rebekah. I can’t believe this is the first time I’ve followed it, I grew up here and didn’t know about it. (Or if I did know, I’ve forgotten).

    • Our house is a bit more to the right, over a couple of hills and around a few corners, barefootheart, but it’s close enough that we can walk to this park in about 20 minutes. I’ll definitely come back and take some more photos from this trail when I don’t have a dog tugging me in all directions!

Leave a Reply

