on the street where I live


on the street where I live

On the street where I live there is a young mother who goes for walks, pushing her baby in a stroller while keeping a firm grip on the leash of her happy dog. There is a little dog who guards his little porch, and a bigger dog who loves to run, given half a chance. Sometimes I see a Siamese cat slip under the fence to explore the back field, following the tracks of mice and deer and other cats who wander there. There is a young man who has a truck parked in his backyard just for parts, and a family who, I am told, keeps a few chickens in their basement so they can have fresh eggs. There is an old man who keeps his yard as neat as a pin, and an old lady who walks to church every day, her tall hair carefully wrapped in black lace. I think I will go for a walk down the street today, and say hello to my neighbours.

Photo taken on December 7, 2010

17 thoughts on “on the street where I live

    • Ours is white, but it’s just as cute! The houses along this street are all post-war houses, and most are 1 1/2 storeys, which I think is just perfect.
      Thanks for dropping by, Olivia!

  1. We’re practically neighbours! I’m within easy walking distance of this neighbourhood, and there are a few of these post WWII houses on my street, as well.

    I laughed about the chickens and will now probably take Piper for a walk to see if she can hear any cackling!

    • Oh, goodness me, hello neighbour! Next time you’re out for a walk, come on by for a cup of tea (or something stronger) and maybe Piper would like to meet Cai and Fergus! We do have a fenced back yard… and a cosy kitchen.

      I shouldn’t really have told about the chickens. I hope they don’t get into trouble…!

  2. It’s okay about the chickens — I’m just wondering if I could smuggle some sheep into my garage! šŸ™‚ And Piper and I would love to come visit sometime! šŸ™‚

    • Sheep in the garage… so when it’s time to mow the grass, wow, the neighbours would be pretty jealous of your environmentally friendly mowing/mulching/fertilizing/wool producing machines!

  3. Guess we’re sort of neighbors too … you probably can see our building from your place. These streets, with all these little post-war homes … that’s our view from up here. It’s quite lovely, what you write about the street and the neighbors. Here, there are 160 units, they tell me, and I don’t know much about the people living here. Most of them are senior citizens, and only the ones I meet in the laundry, I know something about.

    That’s wonderful about the chickens in the basement! šŸ™‚ and I love Karen’s idea about the environment friendly mower.

    • I do walk by your building from time to time, Rebekah, and wonder which balcony is yours. You probably don’t see me waving. šŸ˜‰

      Maybe we can plan a neighbourhood get-together. Funny, how the internet already feels like a neighbourhood; I wonder what a real meeting (in person) would feel like?

  4. The detail about the chickens is so wonderful. I love how we see the houses on the street and with your words, you give us a peek into the lives behind those doors.

    • Thanks Lisa, I was tickled when I heard about the chickens, too, but that was second-hand information. I really would like to get to know my neighbours better, rather than just nodding and exchanging polite comments about our respective gardens, dogs, babies etc when we pass on the street.

  5. I love how we all live near each other! šŸ™‚ I live the farthest, but yes — we need to have a Neighbourhood Bloggers Association Meeting at Tim Hortons one of these days. šŸ™‚

    And the sheep aren’t just to mow the grass, but for the fleece! So I can spin it, dye it, and hook it! šŸ™‚

    • We have met several of our neighbours, and it seems to be a friendly neighbourhood. The people who’ve lived here the longest all seem to know each other; it feels like they’re watching out for all of us.

Leave a Reply

