step in a new direction


step in a new direction

In two weeks, it will be New Year’s Eve. There will be much discussion about the highs and lows of the past year — personal and political, ordinary and celebrity. As we look ahead to the New Year, it is a traditional time to drop bad habits and start new ones, make healthy improvements and set new goals for our lives.

Don’t do it. It’s a trap.

Sure, there’s nothing wrong with dropping bad habits and improving our health. There’s nothing wrong with starting something new. But the pressure to make major changes on January 1st so often results in disaster. Good habits are started and, after the first flush of success, frequently drop out of sight and out of mind until the end of another year. If you are like me, you’ve given up on New Year’s resolutions because you’re tired of the cycle of hopeful but often unprepared beginnings, followed by the whimper of a pitiful ending.

I have decided to make some resolutions, but I’m not going to wait until January 1st:

  • I will begin something new when I need to, and not put it off until I turn a page in the calendar.
  • I will be free to start again (and again and again) at any time without feeling guilty.
  • I will do my best to live in the “now”, and not in the “later”.
  • I will remember that every day is a new day, and every step in a positive direction is an accomplishment.

My first goal is to stop filing my papers on top of my desk, and find a place for everything, whether it’s trash or treasure. There, I’ve said it. Now, to start doing it!

Photo taken on December 16, 2010

8 thoughts on “step in a new direction

  1. A great post, Gillian! The photo is nice lead in too.

    I was having a chuckle at the “Don’t do it. It’s a trap.” But you are so right. I am like you in that I stopped making resolutions. However, I didn’t consciously decide to make resolutions at any other time of the year either.
    I’m a huge fan of the being free to start again and again and again too. I think it’s a marvelous idea. I’m in!

  2. You’re so right … it’s a trap! Imagine all the people who decide to quit smoking on January 1(st) ! What a day to quit on.

    Don’t think I’ve ever made a New Years resolution. However, not too long ago I made a certain promise to myself … in order to better my own well-being and self esteem. So far, so good.

    • I understand the appeal of quitting a bad habit on January 1st, Rebekah — after all, a lot of people have family around to support them, positive vibes left over from the giving and receiving of gifts, etc. But then comes February…

      Sounds like you’ve got something good happening with your promise to yourself. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

