on the day before Christmas


Christmas lights

Although Christmas is called a “festive season”, today is when the fun really begins. Everyone I know is now focused on one intense 24-hour period: Christmas Eve to Christmas dinner.

We’re almost ready. We’ve baked cookies (gingerbreads, walnut snowballs and chocolate-dipped florentines), chosen and wrapped gifts for family and friends (everyone will be getting at least one thing that’s homemade), and put up the Christmas lights. Today we’ll be getting the tree and tomorrow will be dedicated to tidying and trimming, accompanied by a feast of Christmas music.

But I will admit that — as much as I enjoy the activities, the parties, the service, the carolling, the family gathering, the food — what I am really looking forward to is the week after Christmas. That’s when I will have time to review everything, replay my memory of the best moments, look at whatever gifts I may have received, and savour a few leftover treats. Our visits with extended family and friends will feel more relaxing because “the big day” will be behind us. And the shining new year, full of the potential to challenge and astound us, is just around the corner.

Photo taken on December 16, 2010

11 thoughts on “on the day before Christmas

  1. I LOVE that photo.

    We had a mini Christmas last week and so this week is nice and relaxed. I haven’t done much on the baking front and most of the shopping was done at the beginning of the month. It’s been a surprisingly relaxed holiday so far. I’m not so sure that’s better than the usual frenzy….

    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

    • Thanks, Monica!

      I’m actually surprised how many people have been saying that they’re more relaxed this year, they’ve cut back on the expectations and the shopping and the craziness. And that’s a good thing!

      May you and your family have the very best of Christmases!

  2. That all sounds great, Gillian. It’s the night before Christmas Eve, and I’m about as ready as I’ll ever get. I’m looking forward to the new year … not that there was anything wrong with the old one :o)
    Have a wonderful Christmas!

  3. The lead-up to Christmas can be hectic indeed. I should be wrapping presents even as I write this. As you observe, the days afterward can be the best part. And the leftover turkey. You didn’t mention the great stash of easy meals. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

