happy holiday!


happy holiday

Can you feel it? When you first opened your eyes this morning, did you have that “day before Christmas feeling”? No, not the stressed “I have too much to do” feeling. The other one, the feeling that’s been part of you since childhood, that catches at your heart with the magic of twinkling lights and shortbreads and singing.

I get that feeling when I’m wrapping presents and humming along with carols. I get that feeling when I come downstairs in the dark of the morning and find the living room awash with soft glowing colour from the Christmas lights. I get that feeling when I hang each special memory on the tree: the stack of gifts ornament my mom helped me make when I was young, the felt rabbit that I sewed years ago, the cat with angel wings to remind me of my special Tobey, and all the treasures given by friends and family.

Wishing you much magic amid the madness, however you celebrate the season. Happy holidays and Merry Christmas!

Photo taken on December 23, 2010

7 thoughts on “happy holiday!

  1. We definitely have that “Christmas feeling” in our house today! My boys can’t WAIT for Santa to come tonight!! 🙂 I love the little snowman – how cute!

    MERRY CHRISTMAS to you!!

  2. My wife and I are spending Christmas with family. I’m writing this from Grand Falls on my son’s computer.

    Wishing you and your family the best for the Holiday Season. Merry Christmas!

  3. A beautiful photo that makes me smile and a great description of the magic of Christmas.

    I didn’t start feeling the Spirit of the holidays until just before noon today. That’s about the time I got my keester in gear and wrapped the final gifts and started getting ready to visit friends and family to deliver cheer and goodwill. It was a wonderful day and tomorrow will be even better.

    All the best wishes for a magical Christmas from our home to yours.

  4. I’m starting to feel it now, on the morning of Christmas. There is snow covering the roads here in Pittsburgh and the lovely photo you posted is another great Christmas capture. Happy Holidays! Thank you for sharing your inspiring posts.

  5. Thank you, friends, for all your best wishes and kind comments. I really appreciate your visits to Tin Can Beach this past year, and I look forward to staying in touch through the “blogverse” in 2011. Best wishes for a wonderful New Year!

Leave a Reply

