follow the green arrow


the green arrow

Yesterday, I saw a green arrow. Even though I have a good sense of direction, it’s easy to lose your bearings in the woods. So there we were; we were walking through the woods and then I looked up and saw this arrow pointing the way.

Last week, I received an email from an Ontario magazine offering to pay me to use one of my pictures. I had taken this photo in 2007; they found it on my Flickr stream, and it was what they were looking for.

So yesterday, feeling optimistic from the sale of this photo and buoyed up by your warm encouragement, an idea came bubbling to the surface. I put words to that change I have been afraid to face. I said, “What I need to do is start my own business.”

I can write, I can take photos, I can create newsletters and design communication materials. I have a whole range of skills that have to do with computers, social networking, strategizing and brainstorming. Although I will still need some other paid work to keep me going, maybe I can make some money on my own. Maybe I can, for once, be able to set my own schedule and do something I love.

I have a lot of work to do as I flesh out my ideas and figure out my next steps. But here is the green arrow, it says “go this way”. I will follow it even though I don’t know where it leads.

Photo taken on January 6, 2011

10 thoughts on “follow the green arrow

  1. Yes! There you have it, in black and white [or the other way around] “What I need to do is start my own business.” It becomes more concrete when you’ve written it down. Go for it!

    You can write and you can take good photos — that’s an excellent combination, just for starters.

  2. Congratulations!
    Grats ont he sale of your image and grats on finding your path! If there’s anything I can do to help, let me know.

    As for following through on the idea – just remind yourself that if it takes wings, then your flying – if it tanks, at least you still have both feet on the ground – either way, you’re a winner.

    • Thanks for your encouragement, Monica! I will certainly be looking for advice and feedback as I flesh out my plan… it’s really just an idea at this point, but one that I need to start putting legs on soon if it’s going to walk, let alone fly!

Leave a Reply

