mystery of light


mystery of light

It’s raining today but I don’t want to show the rain. I want to show the black road glistening between white banks still tall from last week’s storm. I want to show the shards of icicles, half buried in the spongy snow. I want to show the chickadee, feathers fluffed against the cold, hopping from branch to branch. I want to show the inner life of the forest, the way the treetops hum and sway in the wind, the sheltered pockets beneath the wide-boughed spruce, the soft fragrance of cedar.

It’s dark today, but I don’t want to show the dark. I want to show the mystery of light.

Photo taken on January 6, 2011

6 thoughts on “mystery of light

    • Thanks, barefootheart. It does feel like I’ve found a kind of sweet spot here, there’s enough space for me to step back and observe the world around me, and try to find the right words to describe the many small gifts, the tiny perfect joys.

    • We did get quite a bit of snow last week, but it never seems to be as deep in the woods, and now there’s bare patches again. We were worried we’d get ice pellets or freezing rain here, but it warmed up pretty fast so it was just rain, and then it changed back to snow flurries this afternoon. So the driveway is all ice but the roads aren’t too bad, thankfully.

Leave a Reply

